The Viarco 1950, vintage collection

Here is my take on the Viarco 1950 pencil from their vintage collection.

I will not give you measurements or anything like that, everybody does this, so this is just that I felt it is worth talking about.

Viarco:

Viarco is a Portuguese company that opened in 1907.  Their pencils range from the interesting (scented pencils which I do not want to try) to extremely handsome pencils.  That is part of why I like them.  They make a nice looking pencil.

Fun fact about Viarco, they are a pencil company that still operates today, who can say their production was affected by Portugal’s participation in World War I.

I received a Viarco Fine & Candy as part of the CW Pencils pencil of the month club.

In 2016 Viarco came out with their vintage line.  I had to try one.  I bought the 1950.  I liked the look of the box.  I admit it but just look.  Also, CW takes a good photo (this is their photo.)

Viarco_Vintage_Collection_1950_-_box_1024x1024.jpg

There are more than these, and can be found sold by CW Pencil Enterprise, but these were my pick.  Let’s get right down to the grit of it.

I have written one down to about the point that one more good sharpen will do it in for my hand size, which is about five inches of pencil (a little more if it has an eraser) and I will say that this pencil is a good example of an all around HB/#2.  The quality of the wood isn’t bad, and even when put into general twist sharpeners, it does not chip much.  The pencil holds an ok point, it never broke on me, if you put it through a masterpiece or a long point sharpener you will lose your tip.  It makes a very nice clean line.  The large test swatch testifies to the clay content, as you color over the previous portions you can hear the rubbing from the clay in this moderately hard pencil.

This pencil has a quality requires quality feel to it.  I wrote a seven page letter on a recycled paper legal pad and suddenly you could feel the grit in this.  It was not all the time, but it was enough that this is not a pencil I scream and should as amazing and must have.

Overall-3.5/5  get them if you want them, just use decent paper.

Ganger-Bjorn

Leave a Reply

