I have done a silly thing

What has that shifty Ganger done now?  I took one of my favorite things and used it as a format to make my next project.  I cannot, often anyhow, write a long, drawn out, and informative blog post on everything I love, I am sad to say.  It takes too long, and often times the research is there and done for me, it is a just a matter of telling you my take on it, and then connecting you the reader with the existing work.

What is this ultra-glorious format I speak of?  It is the not so humble encyclopedia.  I love encyclopedias.  When I was a kid we had a set of World Book that I cannot quite remember the exact year they were from, but I am fairly certain my grandfather Bob bought them when there were two Germanies.

Last year  I bought a set of World Book 2014.  Here is the part of this blog post that is helpful.  Here is how you save money if you want a set of encyclopedias, hard copy, and do not want to spend sticker price.  World Book will run you $1049 for the newest.  The year before, $999, and they go down from there.  Oddly the backstock on  2015 costs less than my set of 2014, that may be because they have less of them and it is harder to come by, I’m unsure.  My point being if you do not mind not being 100% current, buy the older ones.  2017 will only be current for nine more months, 2015 will cost you roughly $750 less than 2017.  I mean, they print beautiful picture scapes on the spines, and I am terrified that I will end up collecting sets of encyclopedias, but if you read their site, you are only so many articles out of date.  I paid less than $300 for my set of 2014, even after a fiasco with the post office made me replace two volumes, and to boot, the ones I bought were on Ebay, and a library had them marked to be discarded.  That is way too much paper and information to just throw away when it is that new.

Anyhow, back to the point.  I have created a second blog…Encyclopedia Bledsoe!  Why?  It makes me happy.  Also, I saw a picture the other day from Barnes & Noble, and it hit me.  I do read the dictionary and the encyclopedia and they are awesome!  Why not organize it and share it????

So I made a blog, with what will be an alphabetical menu, that will contain entries.  I will link to a dictionary and encyclopedia site, after I write my bit.  Here is the key, my bit will be my opinion, my humor.  For instance Amy Schumer may not be in the actual encyclopedia, but in mine you will be able to find her listed as delusional and not funny.

What I will be doing:

  • Writing some original content for fun, sharing, and information
  • linking to existing work, the link will serve as the citation
  • picking things from reading the encyclopedias and dictionaries to write about
  • writing entries that are wholly new because they are important to Bledsoe of Encyclopedia Bledsoe

What I will not be doing:

  • Taking pictures of the hard copies of my books, pretty sure that is illegal
  • worrying about what anyone really thinks, pending anyone reads this noise
  • writing without passion or letting this become work

The link can be found in the about section here, and ofcourse you will see the posts on facebook.  Enjoy.

Ganger-Bjorn

 

Leave a Reply

