A new way to adventure.

I have written several entries detailing my extreme love of recording and reflection upon the events of my life and the lives of my family.  Now we are going to try something new.  Let us just dive right in.  The entire point of this is to show that life is an adventure, take notes along the way, and get the most out of it.

  
September 13 2015

Last night I read a quote from the Dalai Lama.  It was about making sure you remember to live.  Ill stick the picture in here that it came from.  People have asked me before why I do some of the things I do.  I normally answer that I am trying to make my obituary more interesting.  I attempt to live to the fullest, often to the point of exhaustion.

Life is, and has been an adventure.  I’ve always kept a journal, the problem is that I have been trying to keep too many since Liam came along.  One for me, one for him, etc.  Yea…that is not working.  I end up spending either no time recording, or I spend so much time trying to catch up that we lose time on actually doing things.

Now this family will have a single cohesive narrative.  Thanks to the fact that we will be putting it online you can follow along if you like.  I have a pretty good idea of how we are going to do it as well.  Now the fun part, doing it.  You are going to need some gear.  My Grandmother has always been a picture taker (a fact that despite griping we all appreciate later) and she apparently has been notorious for home video as well.  I will tell you all about the adventure of preserving her Super 8s one day.  I am a picture taker as well.  So much so with the nice digital cameras we have that I end up not doing anything with them either.

In one of my previous posts, I wrote about getting hungry again.  You can go read that if you want to know what it means.  This is where we are going.  I cannot allow the fact that Liam’s journal did not go well to make me stop.  It just means you condense, reset, and try again.

 That photo at the top? (if you are reading this you’ll need to look at the pictures posted along with this, it is typed out from the journal where the pictures actually are.)  That is Liam and Katie making dinner.  This will be common practice.  I bought a Fuji Instax for this project.  I know it seems retro and expensive, but it is one chance, no frills, no filters or corrections, pull it out and stick it in the book photography.  Something I feel I could stand to have when I have a computer with 60,000 photos in it doing nothing.

This family is going to record what we do.  Note the two photos on page two. We do things.  We read books and tell stories together.  Stories that actually involve falling down when Jack chops down the beanstalk.

It is time to go outside.  See the world.  Share with the world.  Along the way we might clean some junk out of our house, and un bury ourselves.  The world has turned into a strange place and we are going to see the beautiful places before the dark corners of the map are all colored in.

Brandon Bledsoe “Hrolf the Ganger”

  

5 thoughts on “A new way to adventure.

Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Maxed Out Muscles and commented:
    This is my second quote of the motivational quote challenge and since a quote is something someone else said, I decided to reblog this post by beardrolloson. This might be a little too easy, but the quote by the Dalai Lama here is terrific. Also, his post is very detailed and equally motivational. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

    Thank you beardrolloson for the great post.

    Like

    1. Thank you maxedoutmuscles! I was just reading about your challenge. Firstly I believe this definitely qualifies, and if you want theres another one right below it, lol one shot one kill on two quotes. I believe if you do not mind I will share the challenge directly from you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

